Work with us

Our radiation therapy department is part of the Waikato Regional Cancer Centre, located at Waikato Hospital, New Zealand. We service a wide geographical area with the support of established peripheral clinics covering, the greater Waikato, Lakes and Tairawhiti regions. Our catchment population is approximately 550,000 and in 2014 we treated 1800 patients.

Our radiation therapy services include external beam treatment, a HDR brachytherapy and a radio-isotope laboratory (commonly used for treatment of thyroid conditions).
We utilise modern radiation therapy techniques including IMRT and VMAT. Image guided systems (KV, CBCT and MV Imaging) are used for position verification. Deep Inspiration Breath Hold (DIBH) is available for selected patients and we have recently implemented a 4DCT programme. Waikato also has a strong involvement in clinic trials and research.

Inpatient services are conducted in ward M5 at Waikato Hospital which also houses a bone marrow transplant suite and isolation rooms.

Our team

Radiation Oncology team at Waikato Hospital

Radiation Oncology team at Waikato Hospital

Medical physics

  • 7 Medical Physicists
  • 2 Medical Physicists Registrars

Oncology nurses

  • 7 Outpatient Nurses
  • 15 Clinical Nurse Specialists and Coordinators

Radiation oncologists

  • 7 Consultants
  • 4 Registrars

Radiation therapists

  • 34 Full time equivalent staff
  • Radiation therapy students

Our equipment and systems


  • 3 Varian Linear Accelerators with MLC, EPI and OBI
  • 1 Varian Linear accelerator with MLC and EPI
  • Xstrahl Superficial X-Ray unit
  • GammaMed HDR Brachytherapy Unit with dedicated theatre
  • Real-time Position Management (RPM) Respiratory Gating

Pre Treatment

  • Toshiba Wide Bore CT Scanner 
  • Eclipse Treatment Planning System
  • Helios IMRT Planning System
  • Rapid Arc Planning
  • RadCalc Computerised Dose Check 
  • Aquaplast Thermoplastic Immobilisiation

Patient Management System

  • Aria

Specialised Techniques

  • Total Body Irradiation (TBI) and Total Skin Electron Therapy (TSET)

Radio-Isotope Laboratory


Contacts for employment information

Charles deGroot: Radiation Oncologist/Clinical Director

Koki Mugabe: Chief Radiation Physicist  

Michael Taylor: Radiation Therapy Team Leader

To become a radiation therapist

You must complete a Bachelor of Radiation Therapy or equivalent degree. In New Zealand this is offered through the University of Otago.
For more information see link)

To become a medical physicist

You require an undergraduate degree with a major in Physics or Engineering, then a minimum of 5 years at a clinical department (including completion of a relevant master’s degree)
For more information about the MSc, Training programme (TEAP) Programme and career path see: link) and link).