Cardiology is the medical specialty that diagnoses and treats disorders and diseases of the heart including congenital heart defects, coronary artery disease, heart valve problems and heart failure.

Cardiology is a large multidisciplinary unit which provides both secondary and tertiary outpatient and inpatient services for the Waikato and the wider the Midland region.

The department includes 12 cardiologists, plus registrars and house officers, cardiac technicians, MRTs and echosonographers, specialist nursing and allied health staff, and clerical support.


Cardiology is part of the Cardiology, Cardiothoracic and Vascular Surgery (CCTVS) department, which comes under Waikato Hospital’s Surgical Services cluster.

 (external link)

The main areas within Cardiology at Waikato Hospital are


Waikato Hospital, Waiora Waikato Hospital Campus, Pembroke Street, Hamilton

  • Cardiac Care wards (CCU1, CCU2, CCU3), Level 1, Menzies Building
  • Cardiology Clinics (Meade Clinical Centre)
  • Heart Failure Nurses (based at Waikato Hospital but provide inpatient and community services)
  • Cardiac Education (education and rehabilitation service based at Waikato Hospital but provide inpatient and community services)

Contact information

Waikato Hospital Operator: (07) 839 8899 for all services and departments

Referral information

Referrals are by general practitioners (GPs) or other health specialists.

Non-acute (non-urgent) referrals will initially be seen at a clinic appointment. link)