Specialist anaesthetists


The majority of Waikato Hospital senior anaesthetists work exclusively for the Waikato District Health Board, although significant opportunities for private anaesthetic practice exist in Hamilton.

Employment models range from 2-5 days per week, with an emphasis on the later. The Multi Employer National Agreement (MECA)(external link) provides the basis. The department actively explores creative solutions to the challenges of increased efficiency and the desire to preserve quality of lifestyle.

Most Senior Anaesthetists are attracted to work at Waikato Hospital through a combination of a functional department in a tertiary centre offering the dual opportunities of a city and semi-rural lifestyle.

With the exception of those in the later years of practice, all Senior Anaesthetists participate in the general afterhours call roster. There are subspecialty call rosters for Cardiac and complex Paediatrics. A hallmark of the department is collegial support. In addition to the formal second on call Consultant, there is considerable informal support working for areas such as acute Thoracics, Obstetrics or major Trauma. Intensive Care is a separate clinical unit, although the potential exists for dual appointment.

There is a strong emphasis on contribution outside the operating theatre at a local, regional, and national level. Members of the department hold many offices within the Australian and NZ College of Anaesthetists(external link), NZ Society of Anaesthetists(external link), and Waikato Hospital.

Recent and current examples include:

  • ANZCA Part One and Two Examiners
  • National Committee members
  • National Education Officer
  • Formal Projects Officer
  • Rotational Supervisor
  • President, NZSA
  • Regional Representative, Association of Salaried Medical Specialists(external link)
  • Chief Medical Advisor
  • Office holders for Waikato Senior Medical Staff
  • Various Hospital Committees

The Professor of Anaesthesia, Jamie Sleigh, is frequently an invited conference speaker (national and international) and contributor (editorial and well as author) to major anaesthetic journals.