Resident Medical Officers Anaesthesia

Midland Training Program in Anaesthesia

AnaesthesiaThe Midland Training Program consists of the Departments of Anaesthesia at Rotorua, Tauranga and Waikato hospitals. 

A Midland Training Committee facilitates the movement of high calibre trainees between these hospitals so that training requirements are satisfied. While most trainees will accomplish this within the minimum required training period (5 years), this is not always possible. Entry level training positions are offered at all Midland Training Centres. However, the majority of trainees will spend at least one year in a smaller centre. This is viewed favourably. The nature of training structure makes it desirable for this to be either at the beginning or end of training. 

The region is well known for high quality anaesthetic training and clinical experience. All requirements of ANZCA (Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists) can be met within the Midland Region.

A detailed description of how this Midland Training Program functions is available here [PDF, 80 KB].

Read more about  each of the Midland departments of anesthesia 

Application documents 

2016/2017 Recruitment dates

Advertising from:
  • New Zealand - 25 April
  • International - 25 April
Closing dates:
  • Registrars / SHOs / House Officers - 22 May, 5pm
ACE match:
  • ACE applications sent to DHBs - 20 June, 5pm
  • DHB submit rankings to ACE - 13 July, 12pm
  • ACE match complete - 28 July, 5pm
Offers made on:
  • Registrars - 25 July, 5pm
  • House Officers / SHOs - 8 August, 5pm
Acceptances by:
  • Registrars - 1 August
  • House Officers / SHOs - 15 August, 5pm
Training year starts
  • Registrars - 12 December
  • House Officers / SHOs - 28 November


AnaesthesiaTeaching is a strength for the Midland health region. There is weekly teaching including local tailored entry-level sessions at all centres. Waikato Hospital conducts weekly formal teaching for both Part One and Two. This is also open to registrars at Rotorua and Tauranga who are preparing for the exam.

Places for the annual Waikato Part One Course are highly sought after. This combines teaching sessions with significant viva exam preparation and is run for two weeks in May.

Exam results from the throughout the Midland Region continue to be consistently good.

Training opportunities

Opportunities arise from entry level to through to fellowship positions. In keeping with national agreed RMO recruitment dates, the principle employment cycle is Nov/ Nov (SHO) and Dec/ Dec (Registrar) although enquiries are welcome at any time and mid-cycle appointments are sometimes possible.

The RMO MECA (Multi Employer Collective Agreement) is available to all RMOs.

If you are interested in working in the Midland Region direct contact with the relevant Department of Anaesthesia is encouraged. Usually this will be with the Supervisor of Training, but the Anaesthetic Department Secretary will also be able to help. There is also a Rotational Supervisor who you are welcome to contact. While you will need to satisfy organisational processes, the usual RMO Unit/ Human Resource processes are modified for Anaesthetic appointments. Interviews, when offered, invariably include the Supervisor of Training. These people will assist you navigating the process.

Direct contact with the Supervisor of Training of Anaesthesia is encouraged. While you will need to satisfy organisational processes, the usual RMO Unit/Human Resource processes are modified for Anaesthetic appointments.


Valuable transition positions have always been available in Midland, and have included focus areas such as Neuroanaesthesia or ENT/ Airway. More recently formal tailored Fellowship positions in Cardiac or Obstetric Anaesthesia have been developed.

What is "Midland"?

For the Midland Anaesthesia Training Program, the DHB hospitals involved are Waikato, Tauranga and Rotorua.

Waikato Hospital is the tertiary centre for the Midland health region. Midland is the term used to describe the collaborative health region that includes Waikato District Health Board (based in Hamilton), Lakes District Health Board (based in Rotorua), Bay of Plenty District Health Board (based in Tauranga), Tairawhiti District Health Board (based in Gisborne), and Taranaki District Health Board (based in New Plymouth). All or some of these DHBs work together on a range of clinical networks, services, infrastructure and clinical support programmes.