Iwi Māori Council

The Waikato DHB has a governance relationship with the local iwi through its Iwi Māori Council, which has representatives from Pare Hauraki, Ngati Maniapoto, Ngati Tuwharetoa, Te Runanga o Kirikiriroa (representing urban Māori), Pare Waikato, Raukawa and Whanganui iwi.

The relationship between the council and the board is governed by a memorandum of understanding (MOU) which was signed in 2012.

Waikato’s Māori population is the largest in Aotearoa, consisting of 22 per cent of the total population. The IMC has been in existence for 15 years and has provided the Waikato DHB with an opportunity to consult with Iwi Māori on matters pertaining to Māori health gain, and reducing Māori health inequalities within the Waikato district.